In the state of Colorado, harboring a minor is when you shelter a child without the permission of their parent or guardian and make no effort or have no intention of cooperating with law enforcement or do not allow the child to leave.
Not cooperating with law enforcement includes actions such as, assisting the minor in avoiding the law, failing to disclose the location of the minor, failing to release the minor when asked by law enforcement, or otherwise obstructing law enforcement from taking the minor into custody. This includes people with good intentions, like well meaning people attempting to shelter a minor from an abusive home life. Or it would include a 19 year old who attempts to help their 17 year old friend to avoid law enforcement by lying about their whereabouts.
The elements of the crime of harboring a minor (assisting) are:
Harboring a minor in Colorado is a class 2 misdemeanor and being convicted can result in penalties of up to a year in jail and/or fines of up to $1,000. Don’t risk fines, jail time, and marks on your reputation. If you have been charged with harboring a minor, you need Chris Ponce on your side.